It’s a ‘them issue’

 

blog post
Courtesy of pinterest.com

 

So maybe that’s a bit of a stretch, BUT I’ve recently come to the realization that I just can’t be what society wants me to be.  How I go about my daily life and what I choose to do with my time may not appeal to a lot of people. But if there’s one thing I’ve learned, you just can’t please everyone. And once you start trying to appeal to the interests and desires of others, it becomes too easy to get wrapped up in what you think they want.

Being a 16 year old going into her junior year of high school, I can honestly say I’ve dressed or acted a certain way (the list only goes on) around certain people because that’s what I thought they wanted, but never to any avail.

Before I go on, I’ve compiled some of my ‘likes and dislikes’ that encompass who I am in a nutshell. I adore art. I love sitting behind a computer screen and typing for hours, without any distractions i.e. social media notifications. I am not one who is that fond of going out all the time. I like to think I’m daring, but I’m really not.  I have never been the popular or the trendy one.  Hearing the word “goals” when it’s directed at a person makes me cringe and so on.  Somedays I’m crazy and others I keep to myself. I might as well be labeled as boring or weird. The ‘so-called’ norm will never be my thing. To that end: it isn’t my job or your job to be exciting or ‘a good time’.

I like to believe that I don’t care about what others think of me. Except that’s somewhat false so I live my life over-apologizing for my differences; then I become frustrated with myself for putting the opinions of others on an incredibly high pedestal while suppressing the urge to scream: I am better than this. I don’t have to put up with their shit. I don’t have to let them consume me. 

Everyone is always going to have their own  opinion of you. While it’s tempting to want to know exactly what so and so are thinking, it’s nearly impossible to get in their heads and find the answers you’re looking for. Instead of spending valuable time pining after approval and putting on a facade; make what is actually important a priority (what actually means something to you as a person, not an object of interest on display for others to comment on).

Would you rather be your own individual or conform to the general ideals that anyway vary from person to person?

There’s this one quote: “I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody”. Sometimes it seems almost impossible to not crave validation, especially when you put yourself out there. But you’ve gotta trust in yourself that what you’re doing is what’s in your best interest even in the face of rejection. If you’re too much or not enough according to whoever, then that’s simply a ‘them issue’ they can take up with themselves. It only becomes a ‘you issue’ once you let them get in your head. So really what’s the point?

 

Leave a Reply

