An artist’s struggle

Doubt is the killer of the creative and imaginative mind, and it’s what stopped me from digging deeper and ‘going there’.

I know who I am. And I know that I am capable of way more than I realize. But I’ve learned that knowing never will be enough if I’m not willing to ‘epically fail’.

Except I am an artist and I’ve learned that I must fall flat on my face in order to truly grow. That is the only way ‘good’ art comes about. Something real and beneath the surface. Something genuine and beautiful.  I am forever grateful to have had people that pushed me to my very limits in my work. People who saw me beneath just the surface and acknowledged my inner life for what it is.

It was heart-wrenching and difficult at times. Knowing that I didn’t produce my best work. Sitting through a half hour of feedback. Sometimes it felt like I was being told the same thing over and over again. That I have to be willing to go there and be fearless.

Let your fears and insecurities be valuable assets in your work. Finding the strength to keep going can be a treacherous task along the way. But never end the journey, let it live on. You have it in you to turn the timid into the fearless. No matter how hard it is. If it means finding yourself, both the light and darkness within you, let it be whatever it is.

Leave a Reply

