I almost fell, but I don’t think I did

The first time I ever modeled, I was exactly 13 years old and it was an extremely nerve racking experience. I had absolutely no idea how to model, yet I was about to audition for a fashion show. I suppose I thought the opportunity was my calling, a chance for me to gain exposure and further my modeling interest at the time. I remember arriving at the rather small studio that day in a white t-shirt that no matter how hard I tried to pull it down still managed to expose a slither of my stomach, and jeans, having to demonstrate my “catwalk”. To say the least, it was a weird experience as I pranced across the floor, stopping awkwardly at times to pose with my hands on my hips, exposing my teeth which were covered by metallic braces (the colorful ones). I was relieved to get that part of the audition over with, and yes there was a camera filming all of the auditionees right where the judges had been sitting at the other end of the room. The best part was  when the director of the fashion show praised me for demonstrating utmost confidence and energy, despite my lack thereof. Needless to say my “catwalk” needed work and my mother had to pay seventy five dollars for me to travel an hour away for just 2 separate classes. The very first thing we did, and you guessed it, was watch ourselves on TV, then receive critique on our individual walks. My arms were flailing all over the place, I was posing at the wrong times, I seemed to be half thrusting my body while walking, but I nailed my facial expression obviously.The new walk that we had learned was hard for me to grasp my head around at first, and required three different poses at the end. However, it just took practice so I became accustomed to the walk quite quicklyA great deal of emphasis was placed on our hands not exceeding our hips, and just naturally swinging back and forth. However, being the  individual I am, whenever I walked, it was almost as if I had robot like or mechanical arms. There was nothing natural about that, and most of the feedback I received pertained to my “unnatural arm swing.” Having to practice in heels was a horrendous experience because I almost tumbled forward several times. I was so desperate to break the heels in, I would almost throw myself up the jagged stairs in order to practice getting used to wearing them. Let me make it clear, that I am NOT A PRO at all when it comes to wearing heels. And that my friends is why I am never ever auditioning for any fashion show again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

